South West PDP Disowns Enugu Peace Parley

South West PDP Disowns Enugu  Peace Parley

The south West caucus of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has dissociated themselves from the peace parley organized by some of the party’s governors in Enugu between themselves (governors) and some aspirants contesting for the national chairmanship of the party .

The meeting, they said, was only attended by members from 11 states and not representatives of all aspirants for the national chairmanship of the party.

Speaking on behalf of the aspirants, Chief Akintayo Akindeko who is from Ondo State said the parley could be best described as a faction of the PDP.

Akin-Deko  fumed over the composition of members that attended the parley.

His words; “the PDP Governors’ parley of that day clearly represented party members in only 11 states and excluded our members in 25 other states.

”It also excluded PDP members in five of the six states of the South West zone to which I belong. No matter how illustrious or powerful, the governors’ parley of that day qualified as a faction of the PDP”.

He added, “In as much as the motive of the party is to reconcile different factions in the party, it did not make any sense that they should attend such a factional meeting”.

The party chieftains added that owing to the fact they cherished the on-going reconciliation, they decided not to attend the Abuja meeting of selected party members, which held the penultimate week with Professor Jerry Gana

“We believe passionately that reconciliation of the party must begin now before the election takes place, if only to ensure that there will be no victor and no vanquished amongst our illustrious leaders after the elections. We are therefore still very much in the PDP chairmanship race,” he said.

They called on the national leadership of the party to ensure that other aspirants for the PDP national chairman in these 25 states across the country are not shut out.

Contestants for the national chairmanship of the party from the South West include, Chief Akintayo Akindeko, Senator Rashidi Ladoja, Prof Taoheed Adedoja, Chief Bode George, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Prof Tunde Adeniran among others.