The Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (KCDC) reported 144 more cases of the novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and increased the death toll to 10 in South Korea on Tuesday at 16:00 local time.

The government, presidential Blue House officials and the ruling Democratic Party held a meeting on Tuesday, deciding to designate Daegu City and North Gyeongsang Province as regions under special control to further strengthen its epidemic control network and block the spread of the epidemic among communities.

South Korean President Moon Jae-in visited the country’s southeastern city of Daegu and held a meeting on prevention and control of the epidemic there.

He thanked all the medical workers and personnel on the frontlines of the epidemic prevention and control and stressed that the South Korean people will defeat the epidemic by staying united.

Daenam Hospital in Cheongdo of North Gyeongsang Province where large-scale infections first broke out, has more than 110 confirmed cases and five deaths as of Monday. So far, 10 out of the 14 critically ill patients reported in the country are in Daenam Hospital.

Two universities in the region have also reported confirmed cases.

Some students at Kyungpook National University and Youngnam University of North Gyeongsang Province were confirmed to have been infected with the disease and the two universities have closed relevant dormitory buildings.

The universities in North Gyeongsang Province have all sent messages to students who have not returned to school, asking them to stay at home for a week due to safety concerns.

The number of infected patients in South Korea now totals 977. The KCDC updates the data twice a day at 10:00 and 17:00 local time.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login