FG to Probe Utilization Grants for Take-off Projects of 12 New Federal Universities

FG to Probe Utilization Grants for Take-off Projects of 12 New Federal Universities
Chris Steven, Abuja
Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu has constituted a seven-man committee to audit the utilisation of grants for the take-off projects in the 12 new Federal Universities established between 2011 and 2013.
A former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Olufemi Bamiro will serve as Chairman with Kefas Magaji as Secretary.
The universities were established by the administration of former president Goodluck Jonathan to create more access to tertiary education by Nigerian youths as well as to give all states of the federation equal opportunity in term of federal university.
The 12 new universities are Federal University Lokoja, Federal University Oye-Ekiti, Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Federal University Dutse, Federal University Dutsin-Ma, and Federal University Gusau. Others are Federal University Kashere, Federal University Gashua, Federal University Birnin-Kebbi, Federal University Lafia, Federal University Otuoke, and Federal University Wukari.


According to the Minister, the Committee is expected to find out the actual amount released to the National Universities Commission, NUC by the Tertiary Education Trust Fund, TETFund as take-off grant for projects for the 12 universities.
The Committee is also charged to identify and confirm the number contracts awarded, including contract sums under the take-off grants as well as ascertain that due process was followed in the award of the contracts for the projects.
It is expected to find out the amount paid on each project, including outstanding claims if any, to date and also assess the status of the various projects implemented using the take-off grants.