CGF Honours Outgoing CEO With Lifetime Membership


The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) has awarded its outgoing Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Michael Hooper, with“lifetime” membership of the federation.

The honour was accorded hooper at the the federation’s General Assembly on the eve of the 20th Commonwealth Games which officially began on Wednesday in Glasgow, Scotland.

A statement released by the CGF said on Wednesday that Hooper was credited with the establishment of a modern Commonwealth Games administration by transforming it from a small volunteer-based administration.

It noted that the federation engaged for the first time in 2000 its full time CEO, making it a full-fledged professional operation.

According to the statement, the multi-sports body had since then supported the successful celebration of the Games in the U. K., (2002 Manchester), Australia (2006 Melbourne) and India (2010 New Delhi).

It said Hooper also led the ongoing development of candidature and contractual processes associated with the award of the Games, including the ongoing Games in Glasgow and the Gold Coast in 2018.

“He was also credited with playing a leading role in securing bids from Canada and South Africa for the Games in 2022,” it added.

The statement said that the CGF President, HRH Tunku Imran, also acknowledged the significant contribution made by Hooper.

“The CGF is fortunate to have had Mike serve us so well for the past 13 years, and it is entirely appropriate that we recognise his contribution to the success of the federation.

“Mike has worked tirelessly for the success of the Commonwealth Games and the stability of the CGF, and also for the strengthening of sport within the Commonwealth,” it quoted Imran as saying.

The statement said that a lifetime membership was also awarded to Ian Emmerson OBE (England).

It noted that Ian was the Chairman of Commonwealth Games, England, from 1998 to 2007, and is a former Regional Vice-President of the CGF.

The statement also disclosed that the Orders of Merit were awarded to Sir Arlington Butler, past President of the Bahamas Olympic Committee, Charles Flowers (Gibraltar), Edward Pitts (Belize) and Abdoulie Touray (The Gambia).